31 Jan
Upsetters, Sabbath, Van Halen, Iron Maiden, Howling Wolf & plenty of stoner rock & 70's experimentalism

Seminal Finnish trip hop/downtempo/breakbeat outfit Pepe Deluxé just dropped their fourth longplay, Queen of the Wave, this week. They’ve come a long way since their 1999 debut Super Sound, their electronic output taking a deeper delve into live breaks and organ-led rhythms. To illustrate their influences and direction, Pepe Deluxé — aka Jari Salo and Paul Malmström — swung by the Ninja Tune offices and rolled out an hour-long mix on their Solid Steel Radio Show. And what a mix it is, blending up everyone from The Upsetters and Howling Wolf to the distorted guitar heavyness of Black Sabbath, Van Halen, Steppenwolf and Iron Maiden. Expect much stoner rock and 70’s experimental lunacy. Thanks to the great DJ Food for the heads up! Pick up Queen of the Wave  here (on vinyl or download it here digitally.

Stream & download Pepe Deluxé’s Ninja Tune Solid Steel Mixtape below, and hit the Jump to see the mix’s full tracklist plus their grindhouse-esque promo trailer for the “Queen of the Wave” Album…

Tracklist for Pepe Deluxé’s Ninja Tune Solid Steel Mixtape:

Takeshi Terauchi – Tsugaru Jongara Bushi – Guitar Moods
Iron Maiden – The Prisoner – EMI
Black Sabbath – The Wizard – Vertigo
The Upsetters – Popcorn – Trojan
Il Rovescio Della Medaglia – Il Suono Del Silenzio – RCA
Le Orme – Collage – Philips
Tony Joe White – Stud Spider – Monument Records
Jacqueline Taieb – Le Coeur Au Bout Des Doigts – Impact
Pooma – Snow (Pepe Deluxé Remix) – unreleased
Ananda Shankar – The Streets Of Calcutta – EMI
Club Merano – Thamel – Exogenic Music Group
Howling Wolf – Evil – Chess
Van Halen – Intruder – Warner
Eddie Warner – Brutus Drums – Fat City
Dave Lindholm – Taivaaseen – Johanna
Pepe Deluxé – Queenswave – Catskills Records
Tomita – Arabesque No.1 – RCA
Aphrodite’s Child – The Four Horsemen – Vertigo
Jo Stance – Girls – Ricky-Tick
Pepe Deluxé – Go Supersonic (Husky Rescue Remix) – unreleased
Pepe Deluxé – Temple Of Unfed Fire – Catskills Records
Merit Hemmingson – Elverumvisan – Amigo
Unknown – I’m The Boss – white
Von Hertzen Brothers – 21st Century Schizoid Man – Universal
The Millennium – Prelude – Columbia
The Music Emporium – Nam Myo Renge Kyo – Sundazed
The Electric Prunes – Vox Wah Wah Ad – Vox
Pepe Deluxé – Ms. Wilhelmina And Her Hat – Catskills Records
Steppenwolf – Magic Carpet Ride – ABC Dunhill
Nieminen & Litmanen – Leo Jokela – Grandpop

Leave a Reply