27 Mar
Detroit hip hop crew returns without Jay Dilla & Baatin

The once great Slum Village return with The Dirty Slums mixtape, their first piece of original music since Village Manifesto in 2010. After losing the legendary Jay Dilla (aka Dilla, aka Jay Donuts, aka Jay Dee) to blood disease, and then later original member Baatin, the Detroit rap heroes return to the plate for another loaded swing at hip-hop legitimacy. Recorded in alliance with Mick Boogie, and with beats supplied by Young RJ, we’ll see if the project contains enough heat to thaw out Slum Village’s present frozen state. The mix also includes verses from Rapper Big Pooh, Skyzoo, Big Sean, Phife, Phonte, Focus and Joe Scudda. Download The Dirty Slums mixtape here for free.

Stream Slum Village x Mick Boogie’s “Turnin Me Off” (w De La Soul), featuring the lyrical return of Bonita Appelbaum.  Full tracklist of The Dirty Slums mixtape after the Jump…

The Dirty Summer mixtape’s full Tracklist

1. Mick Boogie & nVMe Intro *
2. Slum Village: God Sent (f/ Rapper Big Pooh & Vice)
3. Slum Village: Just The Past (f/ Big Sean & Black Milk) *
4. Slum Village: Music (f/ Focus…)
5. Slum Talks About The Evolution
6. Slum Village: Hunger (f/ Vice & Focus…)
7. Slum Village: Church (f/ Focus…)
8. Slum Village: Fresh (f/ Rapper Big Pooh & Vice)
9. Slum Village: Turnin’ Me Off (f/ De La Soul)
10. Slum Talks About Native Tongues
11. Slum Village: Beats and Breaks
12. Slum Village: Special (f/ Phonte)
13. Slum Village: They Say Remix (f/ Rapper Big Pooh & Phife) #
14. Slum Village: The Hard Way (f/ Focus… & Joe Scudda) #
15. Slum Talks About The Legacy
16. Slum Village: They Don’t Know (f/ Vice & J Ivy)
17. Slum Village: Mortal Kombat (f/ Vice & DJ Bonics)
18. Slum Talks About The Future
19. Slum Village: Da Essence (f/ Vice)
20. Slum Village: Reppin’

One Response to “Slum Village x Mick Boogie = The Dirty Slums Mixtape”

  1. […] your Dilla fix, don’t forget to peep DJ Mehdi’s Loukoums J Dilla Homage Mix and/or the The Dirty Slums mixtape for some classic beats. Looking forward to hearing these unreleased tracks from the Detroit hip hop […]

Leave a Reply